Home Browse Imprints and Partners Join Our Email List For Authors About Us Contact Us

Los Siete Libros de la Diana


Availability  Available


Add to Wish List

This volume is the first critical edition of Montemayor's Los siete libros de la Diana, the first Spanish pastoral romance, using eight of the earliest editions extant. The base text used is Zaragoza 1560, without the errors noted in the collatio, and therefore the closest to the archetype; variants, notes and corrections based on the stemma are presented in footnotes. An introductory chapter discusses the problem of the date of the first composition and publication of the work. Reproductions of the title-pages of the editions used, preliminary poems, additions to the text (except that of Abindarráez) and water-marks form an appendix.
JULIAN ARRIBAS is Professor of Spanish at Presbyterian College, Clinton, South Caro


First Published: 14 Nov 1996
13 Digit ISBN: 9781855660441
20 line drawing illustrations
Pages: 380
Size: 23.4 x 15.6
Binding: Hardback
Imprint: Tamesis Books
BIC Class: GTB

Details updated on 05 Oct 2015

Love Poetry in the Spanish Golden Age

Love Poetry in the Spanish Golden Age

The Invention of the Sequel

The Invention of the Sequel